Go to content
Norsk | English

The semifinalists are announced

Published by Frances Gerono

After two days of impressive performances, 12 of the 37 registered contestants remain.

- It has overall been a high level of performance, all the judges agree on that. It is exciting that the contestants are from so many different countries. All the singers have done an amazing job the first two days, said Chair of the Jury Birgitta Svendén.

The 2017 semifinalists are, in order of performance: 

1)   David Shipley Bass United Kingdom 
 2)   Giovanni Sebastiano Sala  Tenor Italy
 3)  Galeano Salas
Tenor Mexico 
4)  Christian Valle
Bass-baritone Norway
5)  Pavel Petrov
Tenor Belarus 
6)  Kang Wang
Tenor Australia
7)  Ildo Song
Bass  South Korea
8)  JeongMeen Ahn
Baritone South Korea
9)  Siyabonga Maqungo
Tenor  South Africa  
10)  Ruslana Koval
Soprano Ukraine
11)  Alexander Roslavets
Bass Belarus 
 12)  Seungju Bahg
Tenor South Korea


The semifinal will take place at The Norwegian Academy of Music, Sunday 13 August, 1.00 pm - 18.20 pm. 
More details about performance times and repertoire can be found here.

The event will be streamed live here and the film will be available from the Competition's YouTube channel afterwards.

Semifinalists from left to right: Galeano Salas, David Shipley, JeongMeen Ahn, Kang Wang, Giovanni Sebastiano Sala, Ruslana Koval, Pavel Petrov, Ildo Song, Alexander Roslavets, Siyabonga Maqungo, Christian Valle. Seungju Bahg was not present.
Photo: Camilla Storvollen 

Privacy policy