Go to content
Norsk | English

The first competitions

The first two competitions were held in 1988 and 1992, for pianists.

In the video below, we look back at some of the highlights from the first two editions of The Queen Sonja International Music Competition.

The prizewinners of the competitions for piano in 1988 and 1992 were:


1. Nigel Hill (Great Britain)
2. Jeffrey Biegel (USA)
3. Sergei Schepkin (Russia)
4. Eckhart Heilingers (Germany)


1. Simone Pedroni (Italy)
2. Folke Nauta (Netherlands)
3. Sigurd Slåttebrekk (Norway)
4. Victor Lyadov (Russia)
The prize for the best interpretation of a Norwegian work was awarded to Francesco Libetta (Italy).

Footage from The Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation (NRK)
Privacy policy