Go to content
Norsk | English

Application update

Whilst we are still keeping the final list of participants secret for a little while longer, we are very pleased to announce that this year’s Competition received applications from 211 singers from as many as 42 countries.

Young opera voices of the world

A celebration of opera excellence: The Queen Sonja International Music Competition in collaboration with the Bolshoi Theatre of Russia present a selection of previous prize winners and singers from some of our collaborating International Young Artist Programs. Hosted by the Bolshoi Theatre.

The 2015 Jury is complete!

We are once again proud and happy to present a competent and prestigious jury for the next Queen Sonja International Music Competition, which will take place in Oslo, 11-21 August this year.

Talents and careers

We are constantly working to expose and support talents, mainly singers. Yet it is not only the stage that requires top achievements to arouse enthusiasm and applause.  

The Competition in 2015

The next Queen Sonja International Music Competition takes place in Oslo, Norway, from 12–21 August 2015. We are now open for online applications, and the deadline is 1 April 2015

"The Competition opened many doors and gave me new opportunities. Recommended!" 
Kristina Mkhitaryan, soprano (Russia), First Prize Winner 2013 (photo)

Prize winners 2013

Her Majesty Queen Sonja awarded the prizes after the final concert at the Norwegian National Opera & Ballet, 23 August, 2013, and we congratulate Russian soprano Kristina Mkhitaryan with the first prize. Second and third prize were awarded to tenor Andrew Stenson, USA, and soprano Mélissa Petit, France, respectively. Hamida M. Kristoffersen was awarded Ingrid Bjoner’s grant to the best Norwegian participant, as well as the prize for the best interpretation of Norwegian music.